FREE 30 MINUTE CONSULTATION

(602) 237-5373 Se habla Español

MENU

Scottsdale Theft Attorney

Arizona theft laws make it a crime to knowingly control someone else’s property with the intent to deprive the owner of said property. Other actions may constitute theft as well, such as controlling property that you know someone else stole.

Contact our criminal defense lawyers in Scottsdale if you find yourself under arrest or facing charges for theft in Arizona. Theft crimes are serious and can result in life-changing criminal consequences. Our firm has the experience and compassion to assist you.

What Are the Arizona Theft Laws?

The first step in building your defense is to fully understand the law you allegedly broke or accused of breaking. Your options will vary based on the circumstances of the arrest and the type of charges the State is pressing against you. Arizona Revised Statutes Section 13-1802 says that a person commits theft if he or she knowingly and without lawful authority does any of the following:

  1. Controls someone else’s property with intent to deprive.
  2. Converts someone else’s property for an unauthorized term while the owner gave the property to the individual temporarily.
  3. Obtains someone else’s property by means of material misrepresentation.
  4. Controls lost or misdelivered property without taking reasonable efforts to contact the true owner.
  5. Controls another’s property while knowing someone else stole it.
  6. Obtains services the defendant knows are only available for compensation without paying.
  7. Controls the ferrous or nonferrous metal of someone else with intent to deprive.
  8. Purchases the ferrous or nonferrous metal of another knowing someone else stole the metal.

It is also theft if someone controls, uses, manages, or titles the property of a vulnerable adult while in a position of trust and confidence with the intent to deprive the true owner of the property. A “vulnerable adult” can refer to anyone 18 years or older who cannot protect him/herself from neglect, abuse, or exploitation due to a physical or mental impairment. Breaking the state’s theft laws could result in serious penalties.

The Different Classes of Theft Crimes

Your punishment for theft will depend upon the class of your crime. Arizona classifies different categories of theft based on the value of the stolen property, goods, or services. The classes are as follows:

  • Petty theft. Petty theft describes the theft of property valued at $1,000 or less. It is a misdemeanor crime punishable by up to six months in jail.
  • Class 6 felony. Theft of property valued at $1,000 to $2,000 is a Class 6 felony punishable by a minimum of four months to a maximum of two years in prison.
  • Class 5 felony. Items $2,000 to $3,000 equal a Class 5 felony, punishable by six months to 2.5 years in prison.
  • Class 4 felony. Stealing property valued from $3,000 to $4,000 is a Class 4 felony, with penalties of at least one year to a maximum of 3.75 years in prison.
  • Class 3 felony. Any property valued from $4,000 to $25,000 will result in a Class 3 felony charge, with possible penalties of two to 8.75 years in prison.
  • Class 2 Felony. Theft of goods worth more than $25,000. Conviction comes with a minimum of three years and a maximum of 12.5 years in prison.

Discuss your case with a Scottsdale theft attorney at the Hallam Law Group regardless of the type of charge or circumstances surrounding your theft arrest. First consultations are always with a lead attorney – not a legal assistant or paralegal. Consultations are also confidential and zero-obligation. We don’t charge any up-front fees for our services.

Talk to an experienced theft lawyer in Scottsdale about your charge today. Call (602) 237-5373 or submit our online contact form. We proudly make ourselves available so you can speak to and communicate with an attorney anytime.